The Living Room

Here’s an original shot of the living room from the front entry hallway. (Again, these were obviously taken before the previous owner moved out). If you look closely at the ceiling in this picture, you’ll see what bad shape it was in. Josh tore out the entire ceiling, raised it up 4 inches, added recess lighting and re-drywalled.

dscf19261

dscf2447

In the after shot of the living room, you can see our line of hardwood and subfloors (which we just painted for now). The house had wall to wall carpet that was at least 30 years old. We were thrilled to find decent hardwood floors underneath until we got farther back into the room. An addition had been put on the house 20-30 years ago, and instead of doing more hardwood, they just carpeted over sub-floor. Bummer. So, all the floors in the living room, dining room and hallway need to be replaced. That’s probably a few years down the road. The rug and end table also don’t really go (my walls are gray) but I needed a big rug to cover the sub-floors and we already had this one, so there it sits. I have my eyes open for a dark wood coffee/end table combo. The blond isn’t working.

dscf1927This shot was taken from the back of the living room. The doorway in the left of the picture leads to the front door and hallway. Wish the ice cream cone had stayed! The picture below is a better shot of Josh’s handy work with the ceiling and recessed lights.

dscf2530

I’m having a really hard time decorating along the fireplace. The mirror was left, and we kept it because what else do you hang over a giant fireplace except something giant. It works. I just don’t know what else to do. I’m very minimalistic and I already have a whole line of photos elsewhere, so it sits empty for now. (It looked great decorated for Christmas though). And I adore my Mies van der Rohe chairs. I will have them forever and would rescue them-after I saved my family- if my house was on fire. 😉

There is still a bit of decorating that needs to be done in here. The walls are pretty bare but I’m kind of blocked as to what else to do. Just waiting for something to hit me.

dscf1931This shot is from the dining room looking into the living room. Here you can really see the sub-floor line. It’s beautiful.

dscf2532

~ by recoveringgavin on January 7, 2009.

3 Responses to “The Living Room”

  1. WHERE’S THAT ICE CREAM CONE!?!? Picture Leebs wandering around the house, “licking” it! Hahahahah!!!
    We probably should find that.
    But seriously, your house looks SA-WEET. I really never got to see it before it was ripped apart, so the comparisons are A-W-E -uh huh!
    Love you!

  2. OH! And also, I’m a little upset by the fact that you wouldn’t take the time to save the Trinity & Katie portraits if your house was on fire. I mean, geesh. Train Liam to grab it as he’s running out of the house.

  3. oh, trinity. God rest her soul.
    and forget the ice cream cone. what the heck is the doll-thing directly above it???!?!

Leave a Reply

 
