The Dining Room

dscf1932So I don’t have the greatest pictures of the dining room (if only I had known I would be blogging about it!) Notice the light fixture. This is the only thing cool in this house. I loved it. Yes, it’s gold, but could easily be painted. It’s very retro and these things today are selling on ebay for top dollar. So, of course, they took it with them when they moved and replaced it with a cheapo fixture that is in every cookie-cutter house in the burbs. I was so mad.

dscf2551My wall of photos, hence the reason I can’t do this same idea on the mantle.

dscf1933Sorry for such a dark picture. I wish I had a better shot of the french doors. They were literally held together by duct tape. Yeah, that works for keeping out burglers! Seriously, they were so water damaged and warped. Totally pointless.

dscf25541

These are obviously the new doors-one of the first things to be replaced- and our first new window! We have over 40 windows in the house, so we’re going to have to replace them slowly as we can afford it(and somewhere in this house is the trim that goes back around the window). This also is a better look at the part of the kitchen wall that Josh opened up. Again, still needing trim.

I used to love my table, but my tastes have definitely changed in the last 8 years since we bought it. Here’s the one I now have my eye on. Thinking about selling it if anyone is interested (hint, hint). And isn’t my clock the coolest? I have had my eye on this for months at CB2. My mom knew I wanted a big clock for that space and found that one and bought it for me for Christmas-not knowing it was the exact one I had been wanting. Thanks, mom! (We are still late wherever we go, but now we REALLY know we are late) 🙂

dscf1940This is a shot from the arched doorway leading to the back bedrooms. The door that you see leads into our main bathroom. This is a better shot of that cool fixture.

dscf2557And this is another lovely shot of our sub-floor/hardwood line. Oh I hate it so much!

~ by recoveringgavin on January 15, 2009.

2 Responses to “The Dining Room”

  1. oh man! the first thing i noticed was the awesome light fixture! oh well…:)
    everything looks great in there!
    and if it makes you feel any better, we don’t have trim around our front door!

  2. i just love it…the before & afters are so amazing. you guys definitely have that eye for finding the beauty in the midst of the ice cream cone the size of a toddler….:)

Leave a Reply

 
