Little Touches

After laying on my butt for a whole week hardly able to move, I contemplated our house and all the fun things we have yet to do. I got the decorating bug again. For me it comes and goes. A lot of times I need to sit on an idea for a while before I can make it happen.

Since I can’t do major renovations (oh how I wish I could!) I’m left to decorate and spend all our money

Here are some of the little things I’ve done (cheaply!) these past few weeks that have helped make our house feel more like home.

dscf2579 Our front hall is in dire need of new drywall and fixtures, but until that happens, I’ve been trying to think of ways to make it look better. This cedar chest was a wedding (I think) present from my Grandpa to my Grandma. It’s beautiful and is full of fun old stuff. The mirror is actually framed in black leather and I got it at Slumberland for $4!!!! a year ago. I had plans to hang it in our bathroom, but you’ve seen my bathroom. The pillows are from a CB2 clearance sale and were originally supposed to go with the porch furniture. I was afraid they’d get too dirty, so they’ve been in a box until now. Put the pieces together and voila!

dscf2589This fun coat rack was actually left hanging on the wall in the upstairs apartment. It’s sadly missing it’s front hooks, but with a little silver spray paint, I think it looks pretty funky still. Now our coats aren’t piled in the living room anymore.

As you know, my mantle has been bugging me since we moved in. I finally think I figured out what it needed. A fun silver vase and a small arrangement of boys and stuff. After searching every online store I could think of for silver vases, I found this one on Craigslist for $10! (I’m a Craigslist junkie). The vase is over 2 feet tall, but it doesn’t look it on my gigantic mantle. I’m thinking my picture frames may need to be a bit bigger. At least I have something up there for now.

dscf2596

I’ve also been working on transforming a little “closet” into a school room for Gavin. We are working one on one every afternoon and everything I’ve been reading tells me he needs a quiet, distraction-free place to call his own. This closet just housed clutter and now it’s looking cute!

Before………….(my freaky-organized friends are groaning right now looking at these pictures)

dscf2574dscf2573

And after……..the table and floor pillows are from the playroom at our last house and the curtains (courtesy of my mom) are from a roll of fabric I’ve had but never used.

dscf26281

dscf26293

Still working on a few more little DIY projects around the house so I’ll post pictures of those as soon as they’re completed!

~ by recoveringgavin on February 19, 2009.

3 Responses to “Little Touches”

  1. all of it is loveliness….forest avenue loveliness….emily loveliness…..playtime loveliness……lovely.

  2. wow wow wow! his little quiet room looks AWESOME!!!!

  3. whenever I see this, I think it says “Little Touchés”.

    oh yeah, and time for a new post . . . perhaps you could post about the um . . . ‘neighbors’ who live upstairs?!

Leave a Reply

 
