It’s Crunch Time

My sweet little sis will be having her first baby (a precious little girl) in May.  I’m hosting a baby shower for her in April.  We’re unsure of the guest list yet, but there will most likely be people invited who have never been to my home before (and that I’ve never met).  I get kinda weird about people seeing my house.  For me, my house is an extension of who I am.  I don’t really know if that’s good or bad.   I believe that a person’s home is a reflection of who they are, a peek into their personality.

My home is modern……well, sort of.  We live in a rambling ranch built in 1920 (happy 90th birthday, house!) but my decorating style is all modern.  The problem is, my house is no where near where I want it to be.  We have A LOT of stuff to do.  And when I know that people whom I don’t know well will be entering my home, I get weird.   THEY don’t know that it’s a work in progress…..THEY don’t know how much I dislike my sub-floors and that my kitchen has no trim.  THEY don’t know how much I hate that my front hall (the FIRST thing everyone sees) is half drywalled and half cracked plaster with ugly light fixtures and a hole in the ceiling.  Seriously.  It’s so lovely. **

SO, I looked at the calendar today and my sister’s baby shower is in 5 WEEKS!  Gulp.  I’m starting to get a little crazy with to-do lists (none of which has to do with the actual shower).

Some of the things I’d like to get done:

  • Trim up and painted in the kitchen
  • These frames purchased and hung in our living room (Do you know how hard it is to find a perfectly square picture frame? I love CB2!!)
  • All our radiators painted with high-heat paint.  They are all a dingy cream color which doesn’t go at all with my white trim
  • Radiator covers painted to coordinate with whatever room they’re in
  • Our outlets switched out and covers put on. (Yes, I know this is a HUGE baby hazard)
  • The back wall of my kitchen painted orange (it needs some color and I think since it’s visible from the front door that will really make it stand out).
  • The ceiling in the playroom patched and repainted.
  • The trim on my front porch painted.
  • The tv wall/built-ins finished.  The corrugated metal is up, but the bookshelves are still in progress.
  • The back of the front door painted black.  It’s also dingy cream with years of dirty fingerprints.  Gross.
  • And possibly……my hallway torn out and drywalled??????????  Is that too much to ask????  (I’m pretty sure I know the answer, but a girl can dream!)

** Please know that in no way is this post a slam against my hardworking husband who is the ONLY one of us who can do most of these projects.  We currently have another house that we are flipping and he’s been investing his time and energy there in order to get it on the market in the next month.

And the thing I realized after proof-reading this post is that this is my sister’s shower…..not a home show.  Geesh.  People are coming to celebrate Kate, not judge me on the state of my house (I hope not anyway!)  I really need to take it down a notch (as Josh likes to tell me….often).

~ by recoveringgavin on March 6, 2010.

3 Responses to “It’s Crunch Time”

  1. i love your list makin’ ways, girl!! You go, if you need to have a working playdate—i’m available for trim painting or regular painting or outlet switching (my new nickname is sparky, jr.).

  2. em…just to encourage you that most people are like me and don’t even notice the little details. your home is LOVELY and i always leave wishing i had your special gift of decorating. really. relax. 🙂

  3. Maybe if you make it a clothes-optional shower, people won’t be so quick to notice the subfloor? Maybe?

Leave a Reply

 
