“We Can So Make That”

I’ve been working on a few DIY projects that I think turned out pretty fun.  I give all credit to my mom who, when she finds something cool, always says, “We can SO make that!”  She’s extremely crafty and always finds cool blogs with easy tutorials.  So, we indeed made that!

I spent the better part of last week perfecting my kusudama flower.  Of which I made 12.  And then made this:

It turned out way better than I thought it would and these would make great teacher gifts!  A whole tree filled with the balls would look awesome, but that’s a project I’d have to tackle ALL next year (they are a bit time consuming, but TOTALLY worth it and kind of addicting).  You can find the tutorial here: http://www.officexyz.com/home-improvement/paper-flowers-kusudama-paper-ball.html

I also have been in search of an ornament wreath for the past several years.  They are either ridiculously expensive, ugly, or both.  Then, my mom found this tutorial: http://www.eddieross.com/eddie_ross/2008/12/no-wire-hangers-well-maybe-just-one.html

So I unearthed my boxes of ornaments and put this guy together in about an hour:

My mom made me a bow and we hung it on the mirror to complete my Christmas mantle.

And last but not least, I needed something for my long wall in the hallway.  And then I came across this tutorial:http://andersonfamilycrew.blogspot.com/2010/01/make-your-own-silhouette-picture.html (This girl’s blog is one of my favs).

So, I Mod Podged my heart out and created these:

The best part about all 3 of these projects is that they were CHEAP CHEAP CHEAP.  The only thing I spent money on were the canvases and even then I had 40% off coupons.  I love DIY!

~ by recoveringgavin on December 19, 2010.

One Response to ““We Can So Make That””

  1. all the crafting turned out great! i’m especially fond of the silhouettes 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
