Scrub Day

I have a sickness.  I’m a pitcher.  I think I’ve metioned this before, but it really can be a problem.   There’s been more than one incident where I’ve thrown something away only to be needing it later.  (Josh is sometimes worried about the children). 

You know the show Hoarders (and all the other copycats)?  I’m drawn to this show like a moth to a flame.  It’s like a bad car accident.  I just can’t look away.  This show MAKES ME CRAZY.   I cannot for the life of me wrap my head around people living this way.  But apparently A LOT of people do.  UGH.  Seriously these episodes make me itchy and at times I find myself not breathing until a commercial (dumb, I know, but it just sucks me right in).

I could be on a show about people who get rid of stuff.  (Although it would be a rather boring show.  Literally not much to see here, folks!)

All that to say, I’m doing a little happy dance right now that spring is in the air which means SCRUB DAY!!  For those of you outside the area, the city sets up sites once a month where people can bring their trash and junk to giganto dumpsters and you can get rid of your stuff for free.  If you are outside of the area, I do so hope YOUR city does something like this for you.  It makes me happy. 

Before you go thinking I’m some kind of crazy “green” freak, I’m not at all.  To heck with what they DO with the stuff once everyone’s trashed it.  I just love that it means we’ll be doing more projects on this old house and we don’t have to pay to get rid of it!  I can ALWAYS find stuff to fill our truck with on Scrub Days!  Every load hauled to the site is one step closer to completing a project (and it’s amazing how fast our piles of trash accumulate when doing major remodel. 

SO, if you’re in the area and you’re a pitcher like me, OR if you’re knee deep into your own remodeling project, here are the dates and Scrub sites. 

Happy pitching!

~ by recoveringgavin on April 1, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
