Checkin It Off

Because my nesting instincts have kicked in BIG TIME, I’m highly motivated to get projects crossed off my to-do list. 

My happy-spring-painting-project turned into my paint-in-the-scorching-heat-project, but my adirondacks are finally finished! 

I wasn’t sure I liked them when I finished, but it’s the ugly carpet that works against the wall/chair color scheme. They are bright and happy and now I just have to figure out what to do with that floor.  UGH.  I HATE IT.  (The wood floor underneath is in very bad shape, otherwise I would have ripped the carpet out on day one and painted the floor.  Sadly, it needs a lot more attention than that and our porch has never been on the priorty list).

And.  Drumroll please…………

This past week, my fireplace went from this:

to this……..

Painted brick isn’t for everyone.  I got a lot of mixed opinions when I talked about painting the fireplace (and it took me 3 years to convince Josh), but in the end, it’s more striking and brightens up the whole side of the room.

I was not planning to paint the hearth, but my favorite DIY couple just did theirs and it looked amazing AND our tile was so ORANGE (much like theirs).  I still need to apply a couple of coats of Safecoat Acrylacq to ensure durability.  I also love the look of a fresh coat of black inside, but we MAY still use this baby someday and I didn’t want to do anything drastic which might not allow use later on.

I don’t care what anyone else thinks, I’m in love with how it turned out.

~ by recoveringgavin on July 18, 2011.

4 Responses to “Checkin It Off”

  1. Emmy! Emmy! Emmy! YOUR FIREPLACE IS MY DREEEEAM!!!! I absolutely want a white brick fireplace someday! It TOTALLY brightens up that corner of the room!

  2. It looks amazing! I don’t know why this post didn’t show up in my reader, but I love-love-love it!! So glad dear husband had a change of heart! 🙂

  3. that’s a really sharp look, em! hmmmm…saying “sharp” to describe a style. i now feel old.

  4. maybe i should’ve typed old with an “e”– like “olde” to make myself feel even older.

Leave a Reply

 
