The Playroom

No project ever seems to be fully complete.  There’s always something to be hung, tweaked, etc.  But for now, I’ll show you the playroom MOSTLY completed.

Before:

DSCF3668

This was quickly painted when we found out my brother-in-law would be moving in with us.  Old windows and you can still see the steps from the fire escape outside.

And today:

DSCN3126

Stripes(!!!), new windows, and no more fire escape.  The stripes took some time, but surprisingly pretty painless. (We have extremely textured walls and I was very nervous to do stripes, BUT I found this tutorial online and it worked like a charm.)

DSCF3669

DSCN3122

And my favorite part:

DSCN3119

So far we’ve haven’t done anything to this hideout except paint it.  My friend had some super cute ideas to make it into a reading nook, we just need to figure out a way to get some light in there first.  In the meantime, the boys have turned that nook into all kinds of fun imaginary places.

In planning this room, I had visions of lovely window seats with storage underneath for toys, but I have 3 boys who would most definitely be walking on top of the benches and jumping off regularly.  That and the fact that this room is on the second floor and I have a fear of someone falling out of a window, I decided that the taller metal shelves blocking the windows were a safer bet (they don’t ever climb on these thankfully).  Besides, as I’ve mentioned in past posts, the kids don’t even spend that much time in this room (sadly) so I don’t see any point in buying cute furniture.

And here’s a shot of how this room USUALLY looks:

DSCN2963

~ by recoveringgavin on December 10, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
